Important Rituals to follow while Performing a Puja

01 June, 2019
Important Rituals to follow while Performing a Puja Important Rituals to follow while Performing a Puja

Obtaining success and happiness in life have always been the prime purpose behind praying to God. For a long time, people have been following certain customs and important rituals for the search of peace of mind and their soul satisfaction. It is a true belief that praying to God with complete heart and devotion can fulfill any wish that you make to God. But, there are certain common rules while performing different kind of Pujas which should be implemented in order to make the prayer more productive. If you fail to follow the rules that are set aside for the prayers, worshipping may derail and may not serve the intended purpose.
important puja customs

Important rituals for Puja

The timing of the prayer matters a lot when commencing any kind of Puja or ritual. The prescribed time should be is 5 times a day and the family who follow these never have to face health or financial problems.

  • Morning timing is between 5 am to 6 am- Brahma Puja and Aarti time
  • Worship again between 6 am to 9 am
  • After the afternoon prayer, God should be put to sleep
  • Puja and aarti commence from 4 pm to 5 pm in the evening
  • Sayan puja is on the night from 8 pm to 9 pm

Need for an idol or puja

In a puja, it is one of the important rituals for a devotee to keep an idol or picture of a deity or a holy object symbolizing the deity-like Yantra or Shivalingam. These symbolic objects help the worshipers in revering the image of God. An ancient concept of Archavatara the puja performed with high devotion during puja results in God descending in the image or idol that you put in the ritual.
performing puja rituals

Simple steps that are commonly followed in every Puja important rituals

It is necessary to worship the Panchdev and it should be followed in every auspicious occasion. The Panchdev is formed by the 5 important Gods namely Lord Shiva, Vishnu, Ganesha, Durga, and Surya. If one includes these deities in everyday prayers helps in getting their blessings of Goddess Lakshmi. If you follow these rules accordingly there will always be health, wealth and happiness in your life.

  • Bathing the idol: One can pour the water for bathing the idol and is different for all the deities. Likewise for Shiva Lingam is done by the horn of a cow and for Lord Vishnu, it is done with sankha or conch.
  • New clothing and decoration with flower: Offering different types of cloth in puja to different deities as per the scriptures. However, in the daily puja, you can offer flowers instead of cloth.
  • Lamp and Incense: incense sticks (Dhupa) are offered to the feet and light (Deepa) is held before the face of the deity. During Aarti, the Deepak is waved in small arcs before the deitys face and then in front of the whole image.
  • Dakshina or making a donation- It is important to keep some money as a part of the donation to fulfill a wish. As you donate, one should take a promise to drive away any negativity and to get your wish fulfilled.
  • Prostration: The next is prostration which is also known as shastangapranama. The follower lies down and bows his body facing the floor in a form of namaskar in the direction of the deity.
  • Distributing Prasadam: The last step is distributing the Prasad and Tirtha, partaking of the holy water and food after the puja to people who been a part of the puja or witnessed it.

temples and rituals
If you want to get any puja performed for you or need suggestions on the puja to be performed, you can contact Askganesha. We have a team of expert astrologers and Purohits who can tell you exactly what Puja should be performed according to your horoscope or charts. We perform the puja andimportant rituals on behalf of the devotees and send timely picture and videos of the puja performed along with other necessary things.

Nadi Astrologer, Numerologist, Energy Reiki Healer and Lal Kitab Expert
Enrolled with PhD (Computer Science), Completed Jyotish Acharya and learned various Astrology systems and Lal Kitab from different Gurus.

Icon Topper
Translate Translate